Mercurial vapor 4’s have arrived finally

Posted on March 12, 2008. Filed under: Shoes | Tags: , , , |

So I finally got my FG mercurial vapor IVs today after a mix up where I ended up with the wrong size and had to send those ones back!

I haven’t had a chance to test them out in a full game yet, I’ve just tried them on around the house. The first noticeable thing is that the forefoot is wider which many will be happy about, me not so much as my feet are fairly thin anyway so I’ve never had a prob with the vapors before. Underneath the studs are pretty much the same tried and tested formation nike’s been using for a while. It works well anyway and the only problem is sometimes if your body is quite low and the pitch is somewhat wet you can slip as the studs on the front are a bit shallow. If it’s a real problem then you’d probably get soft ground boots instead.

The heel cup has had a big change. It doesn’t fully cover the heel as it did in the IIIs but still has the most important locking points so it’ll probably be fine. I liked the heel cup introduction in the IIIs although it did take a little getting used to as it was quite stiff to begin with. I got the vivid blue/anthrite colour which is basically black until light hits them and then you get some bluish/green specs reflecting the light back. I prefer white shoes but couldn’t be bothered waiting till they (if they) release them. My IIIs have almost given up on me after 2 years of weekly service, so I needed news boots fairly quickly.

I’ll be putting some pics up later to compare them with the IIIs and I’ll write up how they go during the game on the weekend.

Other mercurial related posts…
Who is the fastest
Nike mercurial vapor IVs on the way
Ten years of mercurials
Nike mercurial SL (limited edition)
Nike mercurial vapors

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

