Nike Pro Compression

Posted on January 25, 2008. Filed under: Technology | Tags: , , |

So a couple of weeks ago I finally took the plunge and bought a Nike Pro sleeveless crew with zoned compression areas. I’d been wanting to get one for a while but the prohibitive price usually dispelled my desire pretty quickly. My local sports store had a sale on and I found one for half-price, sold!

The idea behind the dri-fit, compression gear is that the zoned compression areas support the muscles in those regions while the material is designed to wick sweat away from the body. I’ve always been a bit skeptical about these sorts of claims but I’d also heard some good things so I thought I give it a try. When you put the top on there is an immediate impact, you become very much aware of your posture and it’s fairly amazing how those zoned areas give you that sort of feedback. There’s also a cooling sensation in some areas which is a unique feeling too.

I’ve had some back injuries from playing in the past so I’m fairly aware of that part of my body and I definitely feel some benefits there. The support isn’t going to prevent an injury but you can feel those muscles better and the warmth would help when the cooler months roll around. The crew is well-made and robust unlike some of the lycra type products I’ve felt, seems like it will last a while.

I’m quite impressed how well Nike’s investment in new-age synthetics are paying off, much like the skin on the mercurial vapors, the dri-fit material is quite revolutionary. It combines hydrophobic and hydrophilic layers (big words for water-repelling and water-attracting respectively) to remove the moisture from your body creating a corrugated pattern on the skin. The fabric itself barely absorbs any water so it’s very effective at keeping you fairly dry. This is very noticeable and I can see it being beneficial all year round.

If you find any of these tops at a discounted price, don’t hesitate to give them a shot. They are an amazing garment with a lot of technology that actually has noticeable benefits.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

